Project Description

Melos Brass, Grecia

The Melos Brass ensemble was created in 1989 within the framework of the Philippos Nakas conservatory. Its members also belong to the National Radio Symphony Orchestra, and as a quintet have established themselves as a formidable presence in the area of brass chamber music, performing concerts in Greece and other countries around the world. From 2003-2014 they established the annual Ionian Summer Music Academy in Corfu, in partnership with the Music Department of the Ionian University and the Municipality of Corfu. The goal of Melos Brass is to promote brass chamber music by interpreting works from the international repertoire, and to encourage Greek composers to write for brass instruments. A number of contemporary Greek composers have created outstanding works for the ensemble. «Melos» in the ancient greek word for melody.

Spyros Arkoudis
Sofia Siora
Antonis Lagos
George Krimperis
Sakis Myronis